Kai Nagata on media convergence in Québec and Canada

This is Kai Nagata. Click on the picture to reach his blog, Freedom 24.

This is the first time that I use this blog to repost some other article, but I found this piece by Kai Nagata important enough for me to share. Kai was a journalist at CTV whom I first learned about through his highly informative post on why he did quit his job. He now has written a three part post in both french and english about the experiment conducted by Québécor Média in Québec on media convergence, and how the model they have implemented is likely to spread throughout Canada. Here are the three posts: part I, part II and part III. Just follow the links he provides for the full english versions on the Tyee. The french version is fully featured on his blog.

These may take you a while to read, but they are well worth it. I don’t know how many people in Québec realize the extent of Québécor’s media empire and the impact it has on their perception of other Quebecer’s opinions. Kai gives us a very good look into it. It is quite terrifying. All this brings back the anger I felt in my Cégep years, as I slowly realized how stupidly narrow were the opportunities to make money in the arts in Québec. I could never stand to fit into the popular mould: there is no place for a musician like me in this system, which turns out to be in place and very healthy thanks to Québécor. I admire the courage of independent artists in Québec more than ever before. I talked about a few of them in the past, such as Karkwa and Monogrenade. I would like to add a special mention to Vulgaires Machins, who make a career out of openly criticizing exactly what Kai is talking about. Quite a brilliant punk-rock band. I don’t know how they survive.

So really, go read Kai’s posts. I cannot emphasize enough their relevance. You will understand a lot better what you see on TV and in the newspapers and what you hear on the radio in the Belle Province.

*** Version Française

Ceci est la première fois que j’utilise mon blog afin de partager un article que j’ai lu. Je ne veux pas en faire une habitude, mais cette série de posts par Kai Nagata mérite de lui porter attention. Kai était un journaliste pour CTV dont j’ai eu vent pour la première fois à travers cet excellent post dans lequel il explique pourquoi il a résigné. Il vient tout juste de terminer trois posts en français et en anglais sur l’expérience conduite par Québécor Média au Québec sur la convergence des médias, et comment le modèle développé va probablement se propager au reste du Canada. Voici les trois parties: partie I, partie II, partie III.

Préparez-vous mentalement, ça fait beaucoup à lire, mais ça vaut vraiment la peine. Je ne sais pas combien de gens au Québec réalisent l’ampleur de l’empire médiatique de Québécor et i’impact de cet empire sur leur perception de l’opinion des autres Québécois. Kai nous donne une perspective presque complète. C’est plutôt alarmant.  Tout ceci ramène la colère que j’avais dans mes années de Cégep lorsque je réalisais à quel point les opportunités sont minces de faire de l’argent avec n’importe quelle forme d’art au Québec. Je n’ai jamais pu me conformer au moule populaire: il n’y a pas de place pour un musicien comme moi dans ce système qui se trouve à être mis-en-place et en bonne santé grâce à Québécor. J’admire de plus en plus le courage des artistes indépendants au Québec. J’ai déjà parlé de quelques-uns sur mon blog: Karkwa et Monogrenade. J’aimerais aussi faire une mention spéciale aux Vulgaires Machins, qui critiquent ouvertement ce dont Kai parle. C’est un excellent band punk-rock si vous êtes dans le style. Je ne sais vraiment pas comment ils font pour survivre.

Alors maintenant, allez lire les articles par Kai Nagata. Je ne crois pas pouvoir exprimer adéquatement leur pertinence. Vous allez comprendre beaucoup mieux ce que vous voyez dans les journaux et à la télévision et ce que vous entendez à la radio dans la Belle Province.

This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment