Asteroids

Don’t ask me how I choose my priorities in life. I just don’t know. All I know is that my work at ATLAS is the top priority most of the time. But every once in a while, I just get sick of all the responsibilities, the politics and the professionalism of it all, and I indulge myself in some creative endeavour. I love what I do in ATLAS, I love the collaboration. In fact, I’m really proud to be part of it. But I am an emotional being that needs to experience a full spectrum of emotions to stay balanced and happy. What fulfills me more  than anything else is to create things. I do create things in my work, but these creations take so much time to complete and share that I don’t experience the satisfaction of achieving results very often. Achieving results is my drug. And nothing gives me satisfying results faster than art.

For the past 3 weeks, I have been learning to use pyglet, py-lepton and by consequence OpenGL. I have been following this fantastic tutorial to create an Asteroids game, and I have been expanding on the tutorial for 2 weeks now. I have a fairly mature game, and today I worked on adding sound effects. I started fiddling around to make a simple background music track, and I got carried away…

I am working with Logic Pro 9 to make my music. What I haven’t really explored before are the extensive sound libraries that come with the software. I have mostly been recording my own instruments in the past. So you can imagine my surprise when after two hours, I came up with something in a style I have never done before, that sounds more professional that anything I’ve done before. Naturally, I call the track Asteroids.

https://licollider.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/asteroids.mp3

Here are a few screenshots from the game. I don’t know if I will be able to distribute this at some point. Distributing python games is not easy, but possible. If I get a creative commons license for it, then I can distribute the source code… I’ll think about it.

This entry was posted in Music, Programming, Songs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

