TAM 9! – Day zero

Yay! Off I go to Las Vegas for the ninth edition of The Amazing Meeting! The major theme this year is “from Outer Space!”. I can’t wait to see the talks by Neil deGrasse Tyson, Richard Dawkins, Bill Nye, James Randi himself, Eugenie Scott, Lawrence Krauss, Phil Plait, PZ Myers, Michael Shermer, George Hrab, Jennifer McCreight, Greta Christina, and all the other speakers that I don’t know so well. I am looking forward to be exposed to the ideas of all. Adam Savage, of Mythbusters’ fame, was also supposed to give a talk, but television duty prevents him to make an appearance, which is unfortunate. There better be a really good episode to compensate, like trying to power something with lightning… Anyway, I am on my way to Las Vegas to a conference featuring all these great people!

Well… not exactly. I did (or did not) do a couple of things which precipitated a cascade of events which… I missed my flight. It was scheduled to depart at 6PM, and I realized that I didn’t book a hotel room around 3PM. Of course, all the nearby hotels to where TAM takes place are completely booked, so it took me a little while to find something at an (un)reasonable price.

I also didn’t plan that I was leaving the SFU campus during rush hour, so a few buses ran by me which didn’t stop since they were full. I finally resigned to take a slower route.

When I got to the airport there was still around 50 minutes left before take-off. I fly to Europe frequently, and arriving at the airport 50 minutes before the plane leave is tight, but it works. Then, for a flight to the US, the WestJet people tell me that if I don’t arrive a full hour before the plane leaves, I won’t have enough time to go through security. So I missed my flight, because the Americans are paranoid (just kidding, I know it’s my own fault! But still…).

Anyway, I won’t be missing much from TAM, tomorrow is Workshop Day, and I will miss only the morning workshops. I’m still disappointed at missing the “Make your own UFO!” workshop, but at least I won’t miss the “Advancing Skepticism Online” workshop. There should be some good blogging advice in there!

So I am leaving for Las Vegas tomorrow morning, and I will get to the airport a full two hours before departure just to be sure. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in TAM 9. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TAM 9! – Day zero

  1. Jean-Gab says:

    Have fun my friend 😀

Leave a Reply

