Joe Satriani : Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards

Joe Satriani is not a new musical discovery for me. However, his last album, Black Swans and Wormhole Wizards, certainly feels like something new. I was a bit disappointed at his previous album, Professor Satchafunkilus and the Musterion of Rock, and I was slowly losing interest in Joe. Then, something funny happened. About a week ago, on Friday January 7th, my friend told me that she was going to see Joe the same night at the Queen Elizabeth Theater downtown Vancouver. I decide to go as well. This was my second time seeing Joe live, and I was a little surprised since he played many songs I couldn’t recognize. Well, I didn’t even know Joe released a new album! Straight after the show, I went to get the album. It turned out to be surprisingly good. This is the Joe I came to love in the first place. This album has a bit of Strange Beautiful Music to it, which is one of my favorite albums by Joe. In addition to the perfect guitar melodies, there is also a lot of musical depth and exploration with various instruments. In the realm of instrumental rock, it doesn’t get much better than this.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

